Home | Sitemap | Contact Us | Translate
SCHEDULE OF ACCEPTABLE FINES
** Add $25.00 to any violation committed in a school zone.
** Fines are doubled in a “Construction Zone with Workers Present.”
** Juveniles under the age of 17 at the time of the offense are required by law to appear before the Judge in person with a parent or legal guardian.
OUT OF TOWN CHECKS NOT ACCEPTED
******FINES ARE CONSIDERED EARLY IF PAID ON OR BEFORE THE APPEARANCE DATE ON YOUR CITATION.*****
Fail to Maintain Financial Responsibility-
DRIVING SAFETY COURSE
You are eligible to take a Driving Safety/Motorcycle/Seatbelt Safety Course if:
1. You have a valid Texas driver's license.
2. You have proof of liability insurance.
3. You have not taken a course in the past (12) twelve months.
4. You are not in the process of taking a course for another court.
A driver that holds a commercial driver's license is NOT eligible for a driving safety course or deferred disposition.
A driving safety/motorcycle course may only be taken for ticket dismissal on moving violations. An Occupant & Child passenger Safety course may be taken for ticket dismissal on any seatbelt/child restraint violations. The following violations do not qualify for any safety course:
1. Speeding 25mph or more over posted limit.
2. Passing a school bus loading or unloading.
3. Any violation in a construction zone with workers present.
4. Leaving the scene of an accident.
5. Fail to stop and render aid.
A driving safety course MUST be requested in person or by mail. Juveniles under the age of 17 must appear in open court with a parent or guardian.
Please mail your request to:
Lockhart Municipal Court
1914 West San Antonio
Lockhart, Texas 78644
The following items are required at the time of your request:
1. A plea of guilty or nolo contendere.
2. A copy of your valid Texas driver's license.
3. A copy of your proof of insurance.
4. Court costs and fees applicable.
Court costs & fees for violations occurring after January 14, 2016:
Speeding in a school zone $139.00
All other violations $114.00
YOUR REQUEST MUST BE POSTMARKED BY YOUR SCHEDULED APPEARANCE DATE. ONCE YOU ARE APPROVED FOR A SAFETY COURSE BY THE COURT, YOU WILL RECEIVE FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING YOUR REQUIREMENTS. YOU WILL HAVE 90 DAYS TO COMPLETE THE REQUIREMENTS AND RETURN THEM TO THE COURT.
Deferred disposition is a process which the judge requires a defendant to adhere to certain conditions. If a defendant successfully completes the terms of the deferral, the case will be dismissed. Terms may include but are not limited to, refraining from committing certain violations during a specified time period, attending a driving safety course, or completing a specified number of community service hours. If the defendant does not comply with the conditions of the court order, the fine is imposed and a conviction is entered on their driving record.
Deferred disposition may be requested in person or through the mail. You must enter a plea of guilty or nolo contendere for the judge to consider your request. If you wish to request deferred disposition, appear in person or mail your request to:
Lockhart Municipal Court
1914 West San Antonio
Lockhart, Texas 78644
If the judge grants your request, the court will notify you of the conditions of the deferral and the fees assessed. If you have any questions, please call the Court at 512-376-9469.
Consumption, Possession, Purchase, Misrepresentation of Age
If you are under 21 years of age and received a citation for an alcohol offense except for the offense of driving under the influence and this is your first offense, you are required to:
Attend an alcohol awareness class within 90 days
Complete 8 - 12 hours of community service within the same 90 days
Submit proof of alcohol awareness class attendance within 90 days
Submit proof of community service within the same 90-day period
These violations require a mandatory court appearance. Juveniles under the age of 17 at the time of the offense are required by law to appear before the Judge in person with a parent or legal guardian.
If you fail to attend the alcohol awareness class or complete the required community service hours, your drivers license will be suspended. These requirements are in addition to payment of a fine and court costs.
Under our American system of justice, all persons are presumed to be innocent until proven guilty. On a please of not guilty, a trial is held. As in all criminal trials, the State must prove the guilt of a defendant "beyond a reasonable doubt" of the offense charged in the complaint before the defendant can be found guilty by a judge or jury.
Your decision concerning which plea to enter is very important. You should ready the following explanation of all three types of pleas and think carefully before making your decision. If you plead guilty or nolo contendere, you should be prepared to pay the fine.
Plea of Guilty
By a plea of guilty, you admit that the act is prohibited by law and that you committed the act charged. Before entering your plea of guilty, however, you should understand the following:
1. The State has the burden of proving you violated the law (the law does not require that you prove you did not violate the law).
2. You have the right to hear the State's evidence and require the state to prove you violated the law.
3. A plea of guilty may be used against you later in a civil suit if there was a traffic accident (another party can say you were at fault or responsible for the accident because you plead guilty to the traffic charge).
Plea of Nolo Contendere (No Contest)
A plea of nolo contendere means that you do not content the State's charge against you. You will almost certainly be found guilty, unless you are eligible and successfully complete a driving safety course and/or deferred disposition. Also, a plea of nolo contendere may not be used against you in a subsequent civil suit for damages.
Plea of Not Guilty
A plea of not guilty means that you deny guilt and that the State must prove the charge that is filed against you. If you plead not guilty, you need to decide whether to hire an attorney to represent you. If you plead not guilty, you will be set for a pre-trial conference with the Prosecutor to discuss your case.
Click here to download a Plea Form
Juveniles under the age of 17 at the time of the offense are required by law to appear before the Judge in person with a parent or legal guardian.
Information on Your Rights
A trial in municipal court is a fair, impartial and public trial as in any other court. Under Texas law, you may be brought to trial only after a sworn complaint is filed against you. A complaint is a document that charges you with the offense that you are alleged to have committed. You may be tried only for what is alleged in the complaint. You have the following rights in court:
The right to inspect the complaint before trial, and have it read to you at trial
The right to have your case tried before a jury, if you so desire
The right to hear all testimony introduced against you
The right to cross-examine witnesses who testify against you
The right to testify in your behalf
The right not to testify, if you so desire. If you choose not to testify, your refusal to do so may not be held against you in determining your innocence or guilt
You may call witnesses to testify in your behalf at trial, and have the court issue a subpoena (a court order) to any witness to ensure his or her appearance at trial. The request for a subpoena must be in writing, directed to the Clerk of the Court at least three weeks prior to your trial date, and you must give the name, current address, and telephone number of each witness that you want subpoenaed.
If you choose to have the case tried before a jury, you have the right to question jurors about their qualifications to hear your case. If you think that a juror will not be fair, impartial or unbiased, you may ask the judge for a challenge for cause to excuse the juror. The judge will decide whether to grant your request. In each jury trial, you are also permitted to strike three members of the jury panel for any reason you choose, except an illegal reason (such as based solely upon a person’s race or gender). This is referred to as a peremptory strike and each side has three peremptory strikes. Most jurors are selected from the first twelve members of the jury panel, as a municipal court jury is composed of six jurors.
The defendant, the prosecutor, the public, and our system of justice, all require that a fair jury, one without bias or prejudice, and free of opinion as to the guilt or innocense of the defendant, be chosen. A fair jury is one that, not having heard any of the evidence, is not committed to either side. A fair jury is one that is impartial to both sides and that can and will follow the as given by the court.
If you have received a juror summons and would like to claim one of the exemptions listed, please circle the exemption and return the summons to the court.
Please call the court at (512) 376-9469 between 8:00 am and 5:00 pm the business day prior to the date you are scheduled for jury service to ensure that the trial has not been canceled.
If you are not exempt but need a continuance due to prior commitments, e.g., travel plans, doctor or hospital appointments, please bring proof to the court and speak with a judge or the court adminsitrator.
Work cannot be used as an excuse for a continuance and only a judge may speak with you about a work related request.
If you fail to appear for jury service, you may be held in contempt of court and fined $100.00.
RULES OF COURT DECORUM
The following Rules of Decorum shall apply and govern all proceedings before the Municipal Court of the City of Lockhart in the County of Caldwell, Texas.
Formal Opening: The session of the Court begins with an announcement by the Bailiff, Clerk, or other officer of the court and requires all in the courtroom to rise as the Judge takes the bench.
All parties shall be prompt in arriving for Court and in attending to Court business.
All persons entering the Municipal Court building are subject to search of their person and/or belongings.
Courtroom Conduct: the following are prohibited:
Any persons committing any violation of proper decorum or conduct may be removed from the courtroom and/or building. Egregious disregard for the dignity of the Court may be held in contempt of Court at the discretion of the judge.
By Order of Presiding Judge, City of Lockhart Municipal Court:
W. Frank Coggins
DPS SURCHARGE INFORMATION
Driver Responsibility Law
Two points for a moving violation conviction in Texas or that of another state. Moving violations are defined by 37 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §15.89, which includes a list of those violations that will be assigned points.
Points will not be assigned for speeding less than 10% over the posted limit or for seat belt convictions.
Child Safety Seat Violations will accrue two points.
Three points for a moving violation conviction in Texas that resulted in a vehicle crash.
Points accrued remain on the driver record for a period of three years from conviction date. An offense committed prior to September 1, 2003 will not apply to the assessment of points under the program.
DPS will assess a surcharge when the driver accumulates a total of six points or more on their record during a three-year period. The surcharge assessment will be reviewed annually. If driver record continues to reflect six or more points during the prior three-year period, the surcharge will be assessed. Therefore, drivers may be required to pay for one or more years if six or more points continue to accumulate on the driver record. The driver is required to pay a $100 surcharge for the first six points and $25 for each additional point. Point surcharges are cumulative and may vary with each annual assessment if convictions are added or removed from the driver record.
Drivers who receive a conviction for any of the following offenses that occur on or after September 1, 2003 are required to pay an annual surcharge for three years from the date of conviction.
For offenses not listed, contact the Court.
OUT OF TOWN CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED
Lockhart Municipal Court
1914 West San Antonio Street
Lockhart, TX 78644
(512) 620-0150 - Fax
City of Lockhart
308 W. San Antonio St.
P.O. Box 239
Lockhart, TX 78644
Phone: (512) 398-3461
Fax: (512) 398-5103
Open Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm
CONTACT NUMBER BY DEPARTMENT
(512) 398-3461 City Hall
(512) 376-9469 Municipal Court
(512) 398-6452 Public Works
(512) 398-4401 Police Department
(512) 398-2321 Fire Department
(512) 398-3223 Public Library
MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL MEMBERS
Lew White, Mayor
Angie Gonzales-Sanchez, Mayor Pro-Tem
Brad Westmoreland, Council Member At-Large
Juan Mendoza, Council Member District 1
John Castillo, Council Member District 2
Kara McGregor, Council Member District 3
Jeffry Michelson, Council Member District 4
Copyright © 2016, City of Lockhart, TX
powered by ezTaskTitanium TM